#### HOPEWELL AREA SCHOOL BOARD

#### REORGANIZATION MEETING

### **DECEMBER 3, 2018**

The Board of Directors of the Hopewell Area School District met in regular session on Monday, December 3, 2018 in the Board Room of the Administration Building, 2354 Brodhead Road, Hopewell Township for the purpose of effecting a permanent organization of the Board in compliance with Section 404 of the Public School Code of 1949, as amended, and any other business which may come before the Board of Directors.

A moment of silence was held for Staff Sargent Dylan Elchin, a 2012 graduate of Hopewell High School. Dylan was killed while serving in Afghanistan.

Mrs. Dobo, President of the Board, called the meeting to order at 7:02 p.m. Prayer and flag salute was led by Mrs. Dobo. Roll call by the secretary followed. Those Directors in attendance were:

John Bowden
Daniel Caton
Lesia Dobo
Lori McKittrick
Darren Newberry
Kathryn Oblak
Daniel Santia
Jeffrey Winkle

Members Absent Rob Harmotto

Also in attendance were: Dr. Michelle Miller, Superintendent; Jacie Maslyk, Assistant Superintendent; John Salopek, Solicitor; Jennifer Conrad, Business Administrator; and Nancy Barber, Secretary.

Motion by John Bowden, seconded by Kathryn Oblak, to nominate John Salopek as Temporary President. Motion carried by a unanimous vote of all Directors in attendance.

Mr. Salopek called for nominations for President. Motion by Lori McKittrick, seconded by John Bowden, to nominate Lesia Dobo as President of the Board. There being no other nominations for President, Motion by Daniel Santia, second by John Bowden, nominations for President closed.

Roll Call vote for Lesia Dobo as President of the Board of Directors. Motion carried unanimously by an affirmative vote of all Directors present.

Mrs. Dobo called for nominations for Vice President. Motion by Jeff Winkle, seconded by Kathryn Oblak, to nominate Daniel Santia as Vice President of the Board. There being no other nominations for Vice President, Motion by Jeff Winkle, seconded by Lori McKittrick, nominations for Vice President closed.

Roll call vote for Daniel Santia as Vice President of the Board of Directors. Motion carried unanimously by an affirmative vote of all Directors present.

At this time Dr. Miller and Mrs. Conrad reviewed the agenda in its entirety.

### Education/Curriculum/Instruction: Mr. Winkle, Chair; Mr. Harmotto, Co-Chair

- 1. Service Agreement with Stephen Hagberg, MD to provide ACCESS Authorization for Students with Disabilities. (Attachment)
- 2. Informational:
  - a. 2018-2019 December enrollment figures.
  - b. December 2018 Activities Calendars

## Legislative: Mrs. Oblak, Chair; Mr. Caton, Co-Chair

1. Work and Business meeting dates for discussion and conducting any other general business that may come before the Board of Directors, as presented. (Attachment)

### 2. Informational:

- a. Reorganization of the Beaver Valley Joint School board, the Beaver Valley Joint School Committee and the Beaver County Career & Technology Center Joint School Board: 2018 mail election ballot.
- b. SB 1095 passed: Changes to graduation requirements. (Attachment)
- c. SB1098: Encouragement to utilize stop arm cameras on school busses.
- d. Act 55: School Board Training (**Attachment**)

The following items are for action on December 17, 2018.

# **Education/Curriculum/Instruction:**

1. Abigail Davis, a student at Geneva College, to fulfill a student teacher placement March 18, 2019 through May 3, 2019 under the guidance of Tonya O'Brien.

## **Buildings and Grounds:**

- 1. Memorandum of Understanding with Total Control Training, Inc. to use District facilities for the purposes of providing motorcycle safety training and education classes.
- 2. Request of Hopewell Youth Baseball to use the Main and Auxiliary gyms at Hopewell High School Monday, February 25, 2019 through March 2, 2019 for Youth Spring Training Camp.
- 3. Informational: Margaret Ross Elementary School will hold a 5K race on April 20, 2019.

## Finance and Budget:

- 1. Appointment of Diane Palsa as Delinquent Real Estate Tax Collector for Hopewell Township for 2017 school taxes for period December 31, 2018 through April 15, 2019.
- 2. Appointment of Mary Ellen Oros as Delinquent Real Estate Tax Collector for Independence Township for 2017 school taxes for period December 31, 2018 through April 15, 2019.
- 3. Appointment of Sandra Cain as Delinquent Real Estate Tax Collector for Raccoon Township for 2017 school taxes for period December 31, 2018 through April 15, 2019.
- 4. Contract with BerkOne to process the District's Act 80 records at an approximate cost of \$747.00.

# **Nutrition & Food Services**

1. Emily Hunter, a student at Allegheny County Community College, to fulfill a Dietetic Practicum under the guidance of Rosann Hindman, Director of Food Services.

## **VISITORS**

No visitors wished to address the Board.

At this time Dr. Miller returned to Education/Curriculum/Instruction for action items.

### Education/Curriculum/Instruction by Mr. Winkle

# MOTION #1

By Jeff Winkle, seconded by Darren Newberry, to approve the Service Agreement with Stephen Hagberg, MD to provide ACCESS Authorization for Students with Disabilities. MOTION carried unanimously by an affirmative vote of all Directors in attendance.

# **Legislative by Mrs. Oblak**

# **MOTION #2**

By Kathryn Oblak, seconded by Daniel Santia, to approve the Work and Business meeting dates for discussion and conducting any other general business that may come before the Board of Directors, as presented. MOTION carried unanimously by an affirmative vote of all Directors in attendance.

## **EXECUTIVE SESSION**

An Executive Session was held following the meeting to discuss personnel and legal matters. This announcement is being made to be in compliance with Act 84 of 1986, Pennsylvania's Sunshine Law, as amended

## **ADJOURNMENT**

There being no further discussion or recommendations to come before the Board of Directors, Mrs. Dobo asked for a motion for adjournment.

Motion by Daniel Santia, seconded by Kathryn Oblak, that the meeting be adjourned. Motion carried. Mrs. Dobo adjourned the meeting at 7:20 p.m.

HOPEWELL AREA SCHOOL BOARD

Lesia Dobo, Board President

Nancy M. Barber, Secretary